School of Nursing Newsroom

McEwen Among 2020 Shine Academy Inductees

Dr. Melanie McEwen
Dr. Melanie McEwen

(August 20, 2020) Melanie McEwen, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN, is the latest Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth faculty member to be inducted into The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., Academy of Health Science Education (Shine Academy). 

This honor is awarded to only a handful of nominees each year from across all UT System health institutions and carries with it the title of “Distinguished Teaching Professor.” The Shine Academy inducted 16 new members for 2020, including four from UTHealth at Houston. 

“Dr. McEwen has been a valued member of the Cizik School of Nursing faculty since 2004,” said Interim Dean Diane Santa Maria, DrPH, MSN, RN, FAAN. “As track director for the MSN nursing education program for the past six years, she has inspired countless students to focus their careers on preparing fellow nurses for success.” 

Dr. McEwen came to us with more than 15 years of experience teaching at institutions including Baylor University School of Nursing in Waco and Dallas as well as Southern University School of Nursing in Baton Rouge. Her work is widely published in nursing journals in addition to three nursing textbooks. She earned her BSN from The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing, her master's degree in Community and Public Health Nursing from Louisiana State University Medical Center in New Orleans, and her PhD in Nursing from Texas Woman's University. 

Dr. Kenneth I. Shine, UT System Executive Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs, founded The University of Texas System Academy of Health Science Education in 2005, and it was renamed in his honor upon his retirement. Its mission is to support and promotion of excellence in all aspects of health science education, educational scholarship, and leadership throughout the UT system.

In this story

Melanie M McEwen, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN

site var = son