Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Wood, Yu and Fay appointed to endowed positions, effective September 1

Wood, Yu and Fay start FY 2019 with appointments to endowed positions

(Oct. 23, 2018) – Effective September 1, three faculty members were appointed by UTHealth President Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, M.D. to endowed positions at Cizik School of Nursing –

  • Professor Geri L. Wood, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, Nursing Systems Department, is the new Bette P. Thomas Distinguished Professor in Innovative Health Care Delivery. She currently serves as coordinator of the Ph.D. in Nursing Program.  For several consecutive years, starting in fall 2014, Wood has won grants from Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Future of Nursing Scholars program. She was chosen by graduate students as the John P. McGovern Outstanding Teacher for 2016.
  • Associate Dean & Department Chair of Undergraduate Studies Teng-Yuan “Erica” Yu, Ph.D., R.N., is the new Margaret A. Barnett/PARTNERS Professor in Nursing. Yu also is an associate professor in the department, and she has been a Cizik School of Nursing faculty member since 2005.
  • Director of Continuing Education Vaunette P. Fay, Ph.D., R.N.C., is the new Suzie Conway Endowed Professor in Nursing. Joining the faculty in 1981, she now is a professor in the Department of Graduate Studies and a lead nurse planner.  Last February, Lt. Governor Dan Patrick appointed Dr. Fay to the Texas Council on Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders.  In 2011, she was elected to The University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education.

“Appointment to an endowed position is one of the highest honors the university can confer on a faculty member,” said School of Nursing Interim Dean Diane Santa Maria, Dr.P.H., M.S.N., R.N., the Dorothy T. Nicholson Distinguished Professor. “These are deserving and highly qualified nursing educators, and I congratulate them on achieving this distinction.”

In this story

Vaunette P Fay, PhD, RNC, FNP, GNP

Erica Yu, PhD, RN

site var = son