Center for Nursing Research

Aligned with the research goals of The University of Texas School of Nursing at Houston, the Center for Nursing Research (CNR) offers a variety of resources, services, and information for investigators and those interested in research at the School of Nursing. With one-third of the School of Nursing faculty engaged in extramurally funded research, and annual expenditures averaging approximately $1.7 million, the majority funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the CNR plays an integral role in supporting faculty and students with their research needs. In addition to the NIH, the Department of Veteran’s Affairs, the Alzheimer’s Association, professional nursing organizations, numerous corporate and industry sponsors, as well as private sources provide funding for research grants.

Associate Dean and Staff

Nancy Bergstrom, PhD, RN, FAAN

Associate Dean, Research (Email)

Meshonda D Womble, MBA

Administrative Director (Email)

Sandra K Hanneman, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor (Email)

Duck-Hee Kang, PhD, RN, FAAN

Director, Biosciences Laboratory (Email)

Nikhil S Padhye, PhD

Associate Professor, Research (Email)

Stanley Cron, MSPH

Senior Statistician (Email)

Deidra D Carroll

Research Associate (Email)

Sonya Tate Roberts

Program Manager (Email)

Bonnie L Sandoval

Senior Grants & Contracts Specialist (Email)

Sharvari R Kamat, MS

Research Associate (Email)