Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Ownby, Rozmus named 2021 inductees into Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy

Recently two faculty members were selected to be part of The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy of Health Science Education. The 2021 inductees are:

  • Allison Ownby, PhD, MEd
    • Assistant Dean for Faculty and Educational Development, Office of Educational Programs
    • Associate Professor, McGovern Medical School at UTHealth

  • Cathy Rozmus, PhD, RN
    • Assistant Vice President, Institutional Assessment and Enhancement, UTHealth
    • Vice Dean and PARTNERS Professor, Office of Academic Affairs,Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth
    • Associate Faculty, McGovern Center for Humanities and Ethics, McGovern Medical School at UTHealth

“Dr. Ownby and Dr. Rozmus exemplify excellence in health science education, educational scholarship, and leadership,” said Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD, UTHealth president and Alkek-Williams Distinguished Chair. “As members of the Shine Academy, they join 40 educators from UTHealth, as well as other colleagues from across the UT System, in working together to advance health science education, faculty development, and innovation.”

Each year, a small number of The University of Texas System nominees are selected for membership from each health institution within UT System. Twelve new members are selected annually.

“I am honored to have been selected to join this esteemed group of educators from across the UT System,” said Ownby. “I look forward to working with the Academy and furthering the mission of excellence in health science education, scholarship, and leadership.”

New members are nominated based on their contributions in the areas of direct teaching, curriculum development, mentorship, educational scholarship, and leadership.

“I am greatly honored to be selected for membership in this prestigious organization,” said Rozmus. “I look forward to working with my colleagues from other UT institutions around the state to address academic challenges and advocate for best practices in educating the health care providers and scientists of tomorrow.”

The University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education was founded in 2005 and was renamed in honor of former UT System Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs Kenneth I. Shine, MD, when he retired.  

Shine worked with the presidents from the six health science schools and selected faculty across UT System to establish the academy.

Congratulations to this year’s inductees.

For questions about the Shine Academy, contact Robert Buckingham at More information about the academy can be found online.

In this story

Cathy L Rozmus, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN

site var = son