About UTHealth Nursing

School of Nursing photo

Established in 1972, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) School of Nursing is ranked in the top five percent of graduate nursing programs in the country, according to the latest survey results by U.S. News and World Report. The School of Nursing is one of six academic units of the UTHealth. The other units, in chronological order of operation, are: School of Dentistry (1905), Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (1963), School of Public Health (1967), Medical School (1970), and School of Biomedical Informatics (2000). The campus is located in the world-famous Texas Medical Center, where students enjoy the resources of a distinguished health science center combined with the expertise and inter-disciplinary collaborative opportunities of the world's largest medical center.

The UTHealth School of Nursing offers programs resulting in a Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Master of Science in Nursing, Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing, or Doctor of Nursing Practice degree. The school also provides a wide variety of settings in which students and faculty can study, conduct research and participate in clinical practice. The school is proud of the quality and variety of experiences that are offered our graduate and undergraduate students. With more than 1,030 students currently enrolled, the UTHealth School of Nursing graduates an average of 290 nurses with undergraduate degrees and 120 nurses with graduate degrees each year. Since 1972, UTHealth School of Nursing has granted 9,636 nursing degrees to its graduates.

School Facts and Information

Departments and Offices

Centers and Programs