Skip Navigation and Go To Content
Christian Paige Owen and Miguel De La Mora

Jonas Scholars study mental health of nurses and patients

Jun 16, 2021

PhD student and clinical instructor Christian Paige Owen, MSN, RN, CEN, and Doctor of Nursing Practice student Miguel De La Mora, BSN, RN, are among 75 recipients nationwide of prestigious Jonas Philanthropies grants, and both will use their awards to study aspects of mental health.

Navy veteran and Pacesetter BSN Bruce Gillespie

Navy veteran receives full-ride Rodeo Houston scholarship

Jun 10, 2021

How did U.S. Navy veteran and Pacesetter BSN student Bruce Gillespie get a full-ride scholarship from the Houston Livestock Show and RodeoTM? He filled out a general scholarship application on Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth’s website.

UT Health Services Director Dr. Joy Harrison

Harrison named UT Health Services Director

Jun 09, 2021

Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth welcomes Joy M. Harrison, DNP, MSN, RN, an alumna who joined us June 7, 2021, as the new director of UT Health Services, our nurse-led clinics.

Pedro Mora presents a check to Diane Santa Maria.

Fajita Pete’s funds Pacesetter BSN scholarship

Apr 20, 2021

A generous gift from Pedro “Pete” Mora, founder of Fajita Pete’s, will provide scholarship support for students earning a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degrees through the Pacesetter program at Cizik School of Nursing at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.

The Smart Pediatric Oncology Tracker of Symptoms

Crane receives NIH funding

Apr 02, 2021

A new grant will help Assistant Professor Stacey Crane, PhD, RN, develop a web-based interface to make it easier to report kids' symptoms.